Saying "Bye Bye" to the Family!

Well, the time has come to say “goodbye” to the family vacation, and “hello” to living in a dorm, making new friends, and exploring on my own! We have finally arrived at the University of Oslo!

My dad was extra excited to come here and see his old “stomping grounds.” Twenty years after he attended the international summer school program, here I am as well!

IMG_1584

The family and I started the day with coming to the Blindern dormitories and unpacking all of my things… I guess this will be my home for the next six weeks!

IMG_1579

My roommate hadn’t arrived yet so after unpacking we went out to see the city of Oslo for the first time. Since this was the only day my family had here we tried to hit all of the main sights…

Vigelandsparken (Mom’s Favorite)

 The Royal Palace

IMG_1703 The Folk Museum

The Viking Ship Museum

IMG_1709

Needless to say, it was a crazy day! After all of the sightseeing my family took me back to the dorms… It was hard to say goodbye, much harder than I thought it would be.
I held back the tears as best as I could, put on a brave face, and went to spend my first night in the dorms.
I can’t wait to go back and explore these places further during these next six weeks! I’m so happy that my family got to see them too… I miss them already!
Now on to the next adventure, attending the University of Oslo and trying my best to learn Norwegian!
Leave a Reply

