The Moment I Realized that I am Really, Actually, Very Far Away From Home… And it is Fantastic.

The first weekend at University of Oslo was difficult when it comes to home sickness. Since I’ve been in Norway, I have not yet experienced home sickness… Until the morning that I woke up and realized that my family was now on their way home and I was here.

In a large city, in foreign country, surrounded by people I’d never met before. It was a shocking realization to me, and not a happy realization at first. I felt a little lost to say the least.
The first weekend was the worst. I was trying to make new friends, remember names and faces, and make a good first impression. Which were all things that gave me enough anxiety to make me wish I was home.
However, every day became easier and easier. I realized how happy I was that I got to be here for more than a month when the entire class was taken on a tour bus around the city.

There are so many places that are still left to experience in the city of Oslo. I still can’t believe that I have time to see it all! Not only that, but I also found a fantastic group of friends who seem to be as excited as I am about exploring this amazing city and country!

IMG_1930

Exploring Songsvan on a rainy day. Photo credit: Alex Knutson

We went on our first small exploration on June 23rd for the midsummer celebration at The Norwegian Museum of Cultural History.

IMG_1858

The performance that screamed, “you’re in Norway! Enjoy it!” Photo credit: Alexandra Olsen

It was there that my thought of, “being here is scary” turned in to “I can’t believe I’m here! In Norway! This is amazing!” All thanks to a few new friends and experiencing a little bit of traditional Norwegian heritage…

I’m sure that my home sickness will return at some point, but for now I am just so thankful that I get to enjoy another country. When it does return, I know what to do, I will go find more amazing things to explore in the city that never darkens Oslo, Norway.
Leave a Reply

